soup1

Really Creamy Cauliflower Soup

So yes I know I basically live in the desert, and yes I know it was 80 degrees today. And will be for at least the next 10 days. But it’s November, and it’s cold somewhere so I think I reserve the right to make soup. Technically, by that logic I can make soup any time I want. (also I do realize that I start off every soup post with an excuse, or a declaration of my love for soup. just let me have this one)

Anyway.

There are a few things I rarely have in my kitchen – and most of them are dairy. I don’t like milk, I looove cheese but it’s too darn expensive here, cream and butter. Since it is the utmost rare occasion I have any of these items on hand, I am on an never ever ever ending mission to find creamy soup recipes, sans the cream. So that brings me to this hunk of cauliflower moping around my fridge like a sad, lonely…cauliflower. So, when life gives you cauliflowers and you’re craving creamy soup, make creamy cauliflower soup.

What you’ll need:

  • a big ol’ pot. one that will fit soup in it.
  • an immersion blender
  • a spoon
  • ladle

Ingredients:

  • 1 leek, sliced
  • 2 small carrots or one large, sliced
  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut up
  • 1 zucchini
  • chicken broth – just enough to cover the vegetables
  • tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 bay leaves
  • pepper
  • salt
  • maybe half a tablespoon of olive oil

What to do:

turn the stove on med-high,  dump the veggies in, & drizzle oil on top.

put the garlic and the parsley in and stir around for about 2-3 minutes.

pour just enough chicken broth to cover the veggies & boil on high, covered for about 20 minutes, or until the cauliflower is soft.

turn the heat off, take the bay leaves out, and stick your immersion blender in and blend. If you’re really smart you’ll wait a few minutes for the soup to cool down. Or, if you’re really hungry, blend now. But watch out for splashes of hot soup. If you’re as hungry as you say you are, you won’t mind.

It should be pretty thick – keep adding water (I added about two more cups) and blending until it is the consistency you want. With the immersion blender, it took about 5-7 minutes of blending. I could be wrong – I’m really bad at estimating time.

Add salt  & pepper to taste. Chop up some scallions and sprinkle on top.

Enjoy :)

This entry was published on November 4, 2012 at 8:02 pm. It’s filed under Soups, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

